Entering A Photo Contest

Contests make me nervous. I understand that’s a common thing. But I was urged to enter one for my photography class, and decided that the worst that could happen is I don’t win anything, which I’m pretty okay with. So I did some digging and decided to try and post a couple of my portrait shots form Bannack into the Idaho Falls Magazine Photo Contest. Though the contest won’t be resolved until this fall, I can say I’ve entered now! I suspect a number of my class mates will be entering the same, so I’ll be in good company! Best part, it was free to enter.

 

These were the two photos I chose to enter:

 

I had taken them on my class trip to Bannack Montana, a real ghost town. I really owe the quality to the helpers who provided lighting to ensure the models were illuminated. And of course, the amazing models for having kick-awesome outfits!

I read the rules a few times before being certain this would count. The website specified they wanted photos from within the “Greater eastern Idaho region only, which includes northern Utah, western Montana and western Wyoming”. I actually hopped onto google maps to consider if Bannack was within those boundaries, and it seems pretty western in Montana. I filled out the forms, all my contact info, and sent on the files. Looks like I’ll be waiting until October to hear any results. Now I’ve really tried and shown my work publicly, as of 3/1/19. March on!

 

Leave a comment