Photobook Printed!

My photobook arrived, printed by Blurb. There’s something amazing about holding your own work in your hands. Turning the pages, seeing my own pictures in glorious print, gave a sense of accomplishment. Novice photographer that I am, it’s good for the ego.

 

Click on the cover image, or HERE to view the pdf of the photobook.

My cover is white, so I added the border to shot the page dimensions. I’m very pleased with the aperture image. I created a photoshop mock up after creating the aperture with Illustrator, then recreated it in indesign. It let me advertise some previews of my images in a cool graphic!

I used a light gradient of blue to white for my pages. It took some trial and error, along with helpful advice, to get some consistent image organization to display my photos. I leaned away from full bleeds, partially to avoid potential exposure of focus errors, not gonna lie. But a few I felt were worthy of full-bleeds.

I also created the little aperture logo image, which I still find amusing.  Hopefully I’m not the only one seeing it as an aperture falling apart. That became part of my repeating graphics.

Of course, after receiving it, I started noticing little details I could have fixed, minor alignment errors and stuff like that. But every project reaches the point that it is done, even if not perfect. Well, glad to have this one done.

Leave a comment